Skip to content

Tuesday, February 13th was a day of celebration here at Springs as we learned that 31 Springs students had gained New Zealand Scholarship from the end of year exam round.  Extraordinarily, 16 of these scholarships were from History – once again building on the legendary status amongst our students of one our many star teachers – Mr Graeme Moran.  Three of these 16 History Scholarships were at Outstanding level.

Art Design students, under the tutelage of another of our stars, Kirsty Britton, gained 6 Scholarships, one at Outstanding level.

The other subject areas in which students won Scholarships are:

Biology; Dance; Economics; English (1 Outstanding); Media Studies; Music; Painting; and Physical Education (1 Outstanding).

Particularly noteworthy are three of our Pasifika students gaining Scholarships – two for Aria Toilolo-Ite in History and Art Design and one Outstanding Scholarship for Loimata Fa’alogo Lilo in History, and two students from Nga Puna O Waiorea – Lea Rust, an Outstanding Scholarship in History and Mercy Williams, a Scholarship in History; Zachary Monk gaining three scholarships in Economics, History and an Outstanding Scholarship in Physical Education and Caitlin Moffat Young winning two Outstanding Scholarships in English and History.

The full list of Scholarship winners is printed below:

Oliver Balle (History); Pearl Beasley (Painting); Jessica Chapman-Peters (History); Luke Evans (Art Design); Loimata Fa’alogo Lilo (History, Outstanding); Adam Finlayson (History); Oscar Furness-Wills (Art Design); Rafael Hannah (Art Design); Carla Harre (Dance); Ben Leeves (History); James Mac Ewan (Music); Rainer Majsa (History); Romily Marbrook (Art Design); Luca McLean (Art Design and History); Caitlin Moffat-Young (English,Outstanding; History, Outstanding); Zachary Monk (Economics, History, Physical Education, Outstanding); Solomon Moores (Art Design, History); Rory Norton (History); Heidi Robinson (Biology); Lea Rust (History, Outstanding); Theo Salmon (History); William Savoy (History); Aria Toilolo-Ite (Art Design, Outstanding, History); Felix Walton (Media Studies); Mercy Williams (History).

The school is abuzz after a very successful athletics carnival held here at Springs for the second consecutive year since shifting back to our home turf after many years at Waitakere Trusts Stadium.  I take my hat off to the principal organisers Peter McIntyre and Karalee Green but also to all staff who participate fully in what is now a whole school event.

Keep your eyes on our construction zones over the next week or so.  The first crane is booked for February 26th and we should start to see structures appearing above the plywood walls for the first time.  Do take advantage of our first Parent Action Group meeting at 7 pm on Monday March 12th when I will take a tour around the site to view building progress.

Ivan Davis

Back To Top