skip to Main Content
Welcome from the Board Chair for Western Springs College - Ngā Puna o Waiōrea

Ngā mihi o te tau hou – Happy New Year

Welcome to the new school year at Western Springs College – Ngā Puna o Waiōrea.  2022 is already shaping up to be another year of unpredictability that will require the school community to support and care for one another. Our college will do everything we can to make this year as safe and as enriching as possible for students.

A lot has been learnt from teaching during lockdowns over the last two years and that puts our college in a strong position to adapt to the changing circumstances ahead. Our dedicated teachers will continue to work hard to ensure that the school delivers effective learning experiences that will inevitably include a mix of
in-person and online processes.

We are fortunate to mainly occupy new buildings with modern ventilation systems that include CO2 monitors. In the large Ken Havill Centre for Learning, fresh air can be actively drawn in through the windows, exiting up through the top of the void via large extractor fans.

We value the strong community that embraces our school and encourage you all to take advantage of opportunities to connect with the school community. The Parent Action Group is one of those opportunities and I encourage you to sign up for their updates. I also look forward to meeting many of you at school events
as various pandemic settings allow.

Finally – we strongly ask that your students and your whole families get vaccinated and boosted as soon as you are able. This will help reduce health risks to our students and teachers. It will also help us to maximise the days that we can operate in-person learning.

Ngā mihi nui
Carol Gunn
School Board Chair

Board Members

Louise Gardiner – Chairperson

Ivan Davis – Principal
Chris Selwyn – Waiōrea Tumuaki

Belinda Drake – Parent-elected rep
Carol Gunn – Parent-elected rep
Craig Moller – Parent-elected rep
Linda Pirrit – Parent-elected rep
Evelyn Marsters – co-opted Board member
Rangimarie Hunia – Waiōrea-selected rep
Eruera Lee-Morgan – Waiōrea-selected rep
Mary-Jane Thompson – Waiōrea-selected rep

Freddie Simpson – Staff-elected rep
Tracey Watkinson – Waiōrea staff-selected rep

Kimiora Rhind-Wilson – Waiōrea Student-selected rep
Radha Patel – Student-elected rep

Asha Vaidya – Secretary

Back To Top